The Rambling Review : Being Wrong, Recycling and Rome

Header 1

So first, let me start by saying this blog will be all over the place, from philosophy, to culture, to exercise, and everything in between. I’ve tried to narrow it down, but I don’t think I can focus on one topic without wanting to incorporate something else. But I will try each week to focus on a few ideas of things I’ve found which are interesting. More than anything, this review is about rethinking topics, challenging ourselves to experience new ideas, and better living.

If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things through narrow chinks of his cavern

-William Blake

Yesterday night I had an epiphany; I went to MoviePilot.com, where I am a regular contributor. The week before last I posted an article on Movie Pilot and I wanted to see how many views it had received since. I read over some of the comments and I realized I had made a massive grammatical error when copying and moving around the article. Now at the time of writing it, in my haste I posted the article without doing the diligence of reading it a second time on a different day. My epiphany was that it was a good thing I was wrong. When you post something on the Internet, you expect a degree of negativity towards any idea, but sometimes that’s a good thing. By being wrong about my article, I grew far more than others simply repeating my ideas. The thought came into my head, “is this the best I can do?”

Here is a great Ted Talk by Kathryn Schulz, that goes further into the idea about being wrong, and the benefits of it.

My benefit of being wrong was being opened to new ideas, to new thoughts and discoveries. By questioning oneself through the view of a third person (or trying to imagine one as the 3rd person), the crux of growth can occur. This perception gives me the ability to grow outside of my usual experience, and outside my comfort zone.

Further to the idea of challenge your perception, I present to you the next great treasure I have found. In the past few years there has been a growing trend to start using the overabundance of shipping containers for something useful. I have seen them used in buildings in New York,(as they are very cheap to purchase, in New Zealand as a temporary mall in Christchurch, and in Boston as a series of gardens for inner-city food production. Now, to expand on this new paradigm, we have this: http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/todd-miller-shipping-container-home. This is a great example of upper-scale living solutions, uniquely made with shipping containers. Here is another great example of reuse: in Shanghai, an architecture union decided to the use the concrete floor of a collapsed warehouse building as the walls and roof of their tea house: http://dornob.com/modern-concrete-tea-house-salvaged-from-a-warehouse-roof/.

Modern-Concrete-Tea-House-1

Now, keeping with the theme of recycling, I decided to go through the archives of television to watch something a little bit older: Rome. Fans of the popular series Game of Thrones may find some solstice waiting between Sundays for your next episode with the television series Rome. If you haven’t had the opportunity to watch this gem, I highly recommend it. It’s an HBO series in partnership with the BBC and Italian television, loosely based on the historical events of Julius Caesar’s rule of Rome up to the reign of Emperor Augustus. This is a great series, and has been highly recommended by various critics for it’s historical accuracy and well written episodes. The plot themes are reminiscent of Game of Thrones, as the drama unfolds with the characters vying for power. The production value is fantastic, and as time goes by, you become very invested in the series’ short two season run.

If there are any ideas you would like me to investigate for next week, let me know! Thanks for reading! See you next Friday.

Leave a Reply

